Metal Hijab

Assalam’Alaikum ( السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته)

I want to share something funny and ignorant act that I faced because of my hijab. 

Few days ago I had gone to the Doctors office with a friend, to get her MRI done. She wanted me to come inside with her, as she was scared and didn’t know what is going to take place. 

So we went inside and the guy (Asian looking man maybe in his 30’s) asks me if I have any metals on my head! 

Excuse me? Metals in my head? I laughed at him. He looked at me and I realized he was pointing at my hijab. 

My friend, who is not doing hijab, responded that I don’t have any metal in my head. 

I was so surprised about his ignorant and lack of knowledge. But I realized, maybe I am the first hijabi he has seen in his life! 

6 thoughts on “Metal Hijab

  1. sisterofislam30 May 1, 2015 / 4:06 AM

    Salam Alaikum, When I got my MRI the lady told me to take if off… I made sure I had a pin free hijab. I told her no. My friend who was a nurse said she should not have asked me that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • muslimah411 May 1, 2015 / 5:05 AM

      Walekum’Salam (وعليكم السلام. ) sister, Technically as long as there is no metal substance, they cannot tell us to take hijab off. Like in your case it was pin free hijab and so was mine. I always wear pin free hijab (less hassle and stays on my head😉). Nevertheless it was very awkward situation!

      Liked by 1 person

      • sisterofislam30 May 1, 2015 / 5:48 AM

        My mom said it was racist and she doesn’t even wear hijab yet… May Allah guide these people. Ameen

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

